Why I love my sister

Because she made me watch this to see if I’d recognize it (which, duh. I got it within the first 2 seconds):

So then I made her watch this:

…which then led us to lament how no one dances in music videos anymore. Hell, they don’t even make music videos anymore. Then she started laughing and asked if I recognized this:

After we stopped laughing (in addition to the cheesy video, WTF are they wearing?!), she moved on to “Baby Got Back” because her name is Becky:

Then she MC Hammer’s “U Can’t Touch This” and divulged her childhood desire to dress and dance like those women in the background:

We’ve decided we’re old because our students probably wouldn’t get any references to “hammer pants.” Also: when we were in high school we had to wear hammer-esque pants as part of our band uniform. And one of my color guard uniforms most definitely involved hammer pants.

Finally, she played “Techno Cumbia” by Selena:

For the record, I don’t even like Selena. As a matter of fact, back in the day I actively disliked her. Those sentiments aside, right when the video finished my sister said something that I was thinking at the same moment: “If Selena were alive today, I think she would’ve been bigger than Shakira.”

Then she added: “She would’ve been the Britney, and Shakira would’ve been the Christina.”

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in history, identity, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I love my sister

  1. I love this post. My partner and I were just dancing to all of these tunes in our apartment the other night, and I said, “I used to wear hammer pants to school and so did all of the other kids.” You and I are contemporaries, hermana.

  2. noemi says:

    my kids would totally get the hammer pants reference cuz I teach them all the good stuff. 🙂 and made them sit thru youtubing of 2legit 2 quit & so much more of my youth.

Leave a Reply

