Quote of the Day

Rocker Nick Cave, on whether or not he’s a feminist:

Well, I don’t consider myself not one. I’m not a misogynist, so you can dispense with that. I think I’ve done wonders for the feminist movement. I get criticized for a lot of what I write about, but as far as I’m concerned I’m actually standing up and having a look at what goes on in the minds of men, and I have the authority to talk about it because I’m a man. Women don’t have the authority because they don’t know what goes on in a man’s head, so largely what they say is kind of irrelevant. [emphasis mine]

I’d say something in response, but it would just be irrelevant, so… *shrug*

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in feminism, say what? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quote of the Day

  1. Julian Real says:

    Oh, please.

    (This is to Nick.)

    Nick– in my experience, women know far more about men than men will ever know about themselves. For you to think otherwise is a sign of just how ignorant about *women* (and men) you are.

    You’re dismissal of women’s knowledge about their oppressors indicates a form of misogyny to me. So you might wish to re-assess this whole matter.

  2. dareva says:

    Well, he’s certainly got mansplaining down pat.

  3. Sonya says:

    Well isn’t that funny? This MAN says women know nothing about men so we have nothing to say – why is it then men feel so free to tell women CONSTANTLY how they should feel and CONSTANTLY about what’s really going on in their heads and so on and so forth and blah blah blah? The menz just have all the answers when it comes to women but women are being told to STFU when it comes to men. In a word, you are a pathetic excuse for a man and a human being.

  4. Jamie says:

    Yeah. I’m a big Birthday Party fan and like his stuff up through No More Shall We Part but he’s been really. . .blatant with the sexism, lately. Not even wrapping it up artfully or anything (something for which I’m probably too forgiving). The entire “men and women are sooo different!” thing is such bullshit. We’re all human, we’re more similar than we are different. I think there’s probably a bigger gap between how a wealthy person and a poor person think than how a man and a woman of relatively equal economic and social positions think (for example).

  5. Morriganscrow says:

    Whilst this man has written one of my favorite songs of all time (Into My Arms), he has now become ‘irrelevant’ to me as a person.

    Sad, really.

  6. H says:

    ahaha, ohhhhkay.

  7. magnum ti says:

    ain’t nick cave’s argument, and any feminist counterargument to his point, somewhat self-satisfying and arrogant (and kind of recursive)?

Leave a Reply

