Quote of the Day

Elton John, on performing in Arizona:

“We are all very pleased to be playing in Arizona. I have read that some of the artists won’t come here. They are fuckwits! Let’s face it: I still play in California, and as a gay man I have no legal rights whatsoever. So what’s the fuck up with these people?”

Actually, Elton, as a world-famous, wealthy, white man you have plenty of legal rights. You may not be able to get married (which is besides the point, as you’re already married and don’t live in the state), but you’re not exactly at risk for getting harassed, profiled, and deported back to England.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in general assholery, say what? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quote of the Day

  1. prof susurro says:

    I think Elton’s larger point about how people are choosing to fight some battles with performance $$ and not others is a valid one regardless of his personal rights. HOWEVER, I do not think that saying “hey, I can’t have something, so who cares if you can’t have something” or worse “I can’t have something in 1 place, so who cares if I benefit off the fact that you can’t have something in 1 place that is threatening to set the tone for an entire region.” Which has everything to do with Elton’s privileges as you point out: race, class, gender, location, legal status, etc. But then, I would say Elton has lost the right to a moral compass since duets with homophobes, concerts for notoriously racist and anti-gay (including anti-gay marriage) folks, and playing anti-immigrant states is his M.O.

  2. Darth Paul says:

    Elton John is a disgusting excuse of a man. He has no principles or ethics beyond white privilege and the pursuit of profit. The fairy godfather turns out to be nothing but a white witch. He sickens me. I hope he and his good buddy Rush Limbaugh hyuck it up in hell. Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

