Quote of the Day

Courtesy of Celine Dion:

“There are no accomplishments bigger than [being a mom]. The trophies and the money, that doesn’t give meaning to life and that doesn’t give you true happiness…A baby – yes.”

Oh, poo. I’m never going to be truly happy. Neither are other women who choose to remain childfree. Neither are women who can’t afford fertility treatments or adoption.  Neither are women who will never be able to have children, regardless of fertility treatments.

We haz a permanent sad.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in life, say what? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quote of the Day

  1. Renee says:

    Seriously I think you took that comment out of context to devalue motherhood. I am absolutely sick and tired of so-called liberal women running down motherhood because it is a choice they have not made or could not make. She talked about how hard it was for her to become pregnant and how much these children mean to her. Her comment is basically a statement on HER priorities in life and I see nothing wrong with that.

  2. Larkspur says:

    Oh Celine, you are so right! I have no children, alas. Please send me some of your money (the part that isn’t giving you any meaning and doesn’t have any true value) as a gesture of condolence, so as to ease the permanent sad I haz. It will be cold comfort, but cold comfort is better than no comfort, eh? And Celine, if you want, I will refer to the money you send me not as “dollars” but as “celines”.

  3. Julian Real says:

    Celine’s own career has so exceeded what most people experience in terms of fame, riches, and accomplishment, and I have to wonder if making a statement like that is a way to appease her fans, or the larger audience, to appear “just like [imaginary] moms everywhere”, because I’m going to bet she has some “help” with that baby.

    Too bad all moms were so lucky. And there’s nothing about our capitalist/racist/woman-hating society that would allow that to happen.

    It’s so gross how much the biases against childfree women and single women and the fantasies and mythologies about motherhood flow around with so absolutely no critique by dominant corporate media.

    And it’s not like comments like that make women I know feel validated who have babies and don’t find it so wonderful, blissful, and the best thing ever. A mom I know who most likely had post-partum depression also had the huge guilt of not feeling what society’s misogynistic choir, now with Celine taking center stage, told her since girlhood she was suppose to feel. And few women who are moms can afford to only be moms. Celine would do well to remind folks how her extraordinary class and race privileges allow her to feel whatever she feels and do whatever she wants to do.

  4. Renee says:

    Celine would do well to remind folks how her extraordinary class and race privileges allow her to feel whatever she feels and do whatever she wants to do.

    And this an assumption. Really is a woman is poor, or of colour she cannot possibly feel that being a mother is the most important thing in her life. Perhaps if you took the time to research just how hard we have had to fight for the right to mother your position would change. Making comments like this is reductive because it paints marginalized women with a very limited lens.

  5. Jezebella says:

    Have you seen the comedy song on youtube entitled “pregnant women are smug”? I think that song is about Celine Dion.

  6. Melissa says:

    Renee, I honestly don’t think the quote is out of context at all. I’ve seen/read plenty of Celine interviews re: motherhood since the birth of her first child, and her motherhood comments consistently fall within that context (hence my annoyance with her). I realize she’s had difficulty conceiving in the past, and I’m glad she’s able to experience pregnancy again because it’s something she fought for, but it’s also extremely aggravating to hear stuff like “you don’t know what true happiness is until you’re a mother” or “you’re not a true woman until you’re a mother” (which I know Celine didn’t say, but is something I commonly hear in conjunction with the first comment).

    [Also: Sorry your comments didn’t go up right away. I’ve been away from the computer all afternoon. Once your 1st comment gets approved, your stuff usually doesn’t get held for moderation.]

  7. Renee says:

    @Larkspur
    I also think that it is important to remember that you are talking about a person whose first language is French and not English. Her sentence structure is different than ours because of it.

  8. Larkspur says:

    Renee, I acknowledge the language difference, but I do not see its relevance in this particular situation. Also, it is important to remember than Celine Dion is extremely wealthy, and I am not. My belief structure is different because of it. Possibly my belief structure is warped. If so, my sincere apologies to Ms. Dion.

  9. Julian Real says:

    Hi Renee,

    I agree with Melissa on the points she made, and want to clarify another.

    First, yes, Celine struggled to conceive, and my issue isn’t at all with her having a baby. At all. I sense she is very happy and I’m genuinely happy for her. I personally love babies a lot and love knowing there are some parents, completely regardless of class, gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity and regional differences, who welcomed pregnancy and wanted the child, and is able to love the child or children they have, hopefully with support from other loved ones, including friends.)

    My issue is that Celine Dion is a status symbol and role model–she is the body type and race that Hollywood and Corporate North America adores–and she is one among the very rich and famous, sending and resending out this message that reinforces the patriarchal imperative that being a mother ought to be considered by all women and men as THE BEST thing for a WOMAN to do. I know so many women who are childless and childfree, by choice, who are doing amazing things with their lives, brilliant and wondrous things that have nothing whatsoever to do with being pregnant or parenting anyone. (And I know many women with children who also are doing amazing and wondrous things that have nothing to do with being a parent.)

    My issue is that anyone with THAT much privilege and media clout and influence ought to consider this when making any comments about their life, independently of whether or not it has to do with raising a child.

    As a childfree person myself, the heterosexism I live with as a gay man is so damned oppressive, daily, in media, in public, and “having a child” and “loving being a mom” is all part of the package that is sold in so many ways, that is intended to invisibilise me and lesbian women and heterosexual women who do not have or want to have children. It is also a very big part of what led to my own mom’s mental health crisis.

    I don’t think “social pressure to conform”, including by incessant corporate media messages and celebrity testimonials, ought to be a factor in anyone deciding whether or not to be a parent. And I know I’m not going to see dominant North America embrace that idea at all.

  10. the daily sloth says:

    I would assume she meant that being a mom is a lot more meaningful than singing shitty music other people wrote. Hard to argue against that.

Leave a Reply

