On growing vegetables

…or not.

Last year I decided I wanted to plant corn and tomatoes in my backyard (it’s a decently large backyard), but it was already too late in the year.  The urge to plant hit me again this afternoon, so I went online and looked at planting timetables, and lo and behold: it’s planting time!

So I randomly found this website with all kinds of awesome-sounding offerings of vegetable seeds.  I picked out my corn, squash, carrot, and watermelon seeds (bc I figured I could go to a garden center and pick up a few tomato plants), and was ready to buy, but then I realized: my backyard is a barren wasteland.  For real.  It would require some serious tilling and nutrient infusing (not to mention good dirt) before anything other than stubborn-ass weeds would grow in it.

I also have zero nunchuck skills when it comes to keeping greenery alive, so this would require some serious, serious consciousness on my part.

Add this to the fact that I’m way too poor to rent a tiller*…all of these factors make me sad.  I had beautiful visions of backyard corn and semi-edible squash dancing in my head. 😦

Which brings me to the question: do you think there’s anything I could feasibly grow (without killing) within the summer growing season?  Or should I just apply myself to the art of composting for future use?

*Technically, I will have enough discretionary income after Friday to rent a tiller.  I’d just rather save it and blow it in Austin when I go see Of Montreal in a couple of weeks.  Priorities, people.  Priorities.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On growing vegetables

  1. Courtney S. says:

    Just because you have a backyard doesn’t mean you have to plant in the backyward. You can always do container gardening in a few corners of your backyard, and do things to make the soil more fertile in the meantime. If you get big enough containers, you can plant pretty much anything (although, I don’t know about corn), and you can just buy soil, which shouldn’t be as pricy as renting a tiller.

  2. Melissa says:

    True. I might just get some tomato plants and try to grow them in big containers. It seems a lot more low-maintenance. And slightly more foolproof.

  3. Sanguinity says:

    In addition to container gardening, one of the things you can do is start with improving the soil of a small plot, and then extend the square-footage year by year. Just because you’ve got a whole backyard back there, doesn’t mean you’ve got to take the whole thing on in one weekend.

    If you do decide to wait a year: if you plant cover crops this season instead of vegetables , and then dig those cover crops in at season end, that’ll do better for you than simply letting the dirt sit for a year while you work on making household compost. (And if you can repeat that again for a winter season — I don’t know what your winters are like — so much the better.) Watching a cover crop grow will also let you get a handle on exactly what sort of shape your soil/dirt is in, and thus what help it might need from you, before you try to grow something nutrition-intensive on it, like corn, squash, or tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

