Wilma Mankiller, 1945-2010

“In a just country, [Gloria] Steinem believes, Mankiller would be president.”

I haven’t had a chance to post about Wilma Mankiller’s passing because I’ve been traveling for a few days and haven’t had much access to the blog, but I was sad to hear the news on Wednesday.

Mankiller was the first female chief of the Cherokee Nation, and someone whom I have greatly admired over the years.  I posted a link to Bitch Magazine’s profile of her in one of my recent Link Love posts, but here it is again for those of you who missed it.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in history, obits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

