Asshole of the Day: Bob Marshall (R-VA)

via TPM

According to VA state delegate Bob Marshall (R-VA), who wants to Planned Parenthood’s funding:

“The number of children who are born subsequent to a first abortion with handicaps has increased dramatically. Why? Because when you abort the first born of any, nature takes its vengeance on the subsequent children…In the Old Testament, the first born of every being, animal and man, was dedicated to the Lord.  There’s a special punishment Christians would suggest.”

WTF?

Edit: Upon further examination, I would just like to point out that the first sentence–particularly, “a first abortion with handicaps”–is poorly worded.

Also, as it is 2:45 in the morning and I have nothing better to do than develop Fuzzy Math equations for y’all to figure out, his Old Testament animal comment made me wonder: There are two pregnant stray cats who live in my backyard.  As I don’t want two litters of kittens dying out in the elements (which is what happens 95% of the time), I’m trying to arrange abortions at my local, brand-spankin’ new, low cost spay/neuter clinic.  By Marshall’s logic, does this mean I am 8-12 times more likely to be “specially punished” or damned to hell?  Or am I good to go, since only one of the cats is due to have her first born?

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in abortion, say what? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asshole of the Day: Bob Marshall (R-VA)

  1. Sanguinity says:

    I think there’re instructions on dedicating animals to the Lord somewhere in the OT. Just follow directions and make a burnt offering of the aborted materials from the one cat, and you’re good to go.

Leave a Reply

