RIP Kate McGarrigle

So sad to hear Kate McGarrigle died.  I had the privilege of seeing her perform a few times with her children, Rufus and Martha Wainwright, and at the 2008 McGarrigle Christmas Hour at Carnegie Hall).  She always seemed like a bubbly woman, and her attire always fascinated me.  At her Christmas show, for instance, she was wearing a torn tights and a tiny black minidress that she proudly announced she’d bought decades earlier for a few dollars!

This was the last time I saw her.  Radio City Music Hall, Valentine’s Day 2008:

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in music, obits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RIP Kate McGarrigle

  1. Julian says:

    OMG. I had no idea. I’m so sad!! I will also miss her, and thank you for posting this! I saw Martha and Rufus, but never Kate. Sorry to say. I hope she departed with ease and without pain.

Leave a Reply

