Quote of the Day: Zoe Saldana

What sort of roles won’t you play?

I have a hard time accepting roles that typecast a culture. I don’t need to play Juana, the prostitute from Washington Heights, in every movie. If it’s been done before, you don’t need my help. Latinos, we’re not all pimps or prostitutes, we don’t all deal drugs; not everyone in Jamaica smokes weed; not every Middle Easterner is a terrorist. It’s boring, offensive, and hurtful. I’m not bitter about it, I’m just saying that I would like to retain accuracy of certain cultures.

—Zoe Saldana, via Complex

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in film, stereotypes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

