Christmas shopping…for me!

The only person I really bought a Christmas present for this year was my little nephew, who’s about 2 and a half.  Come gift time, he always gets books from me, and this year I got him three: Where the Wild Things Are, Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing, and Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.  On that shipment, I added Lars von Trier’s Dancer in the Dark for myself (LOVE that movie; it’s so devastating), because I needed at least $25 for free shipping, and the DVD was only $5.79 (still is, btw).

So now that my “holiday shopping” is out of the way, on to more important things: ME!  I’ve been really good about going to the library as of late, but I’ve been working extra long hours at work and wanted to reward myself for being good and earning enough extra money to hold me over until the end of next month.

I still really want Maile Meloy’s new collection of short stories, the vegan comfort food cookbook, and a patternmaking book, but I decided to go for quantity.  My limit was to stick as closely to the $25 free shipping minimum as possible, and I hella succeeded: the grand total was $25.38!  I bought 3 books by women and a DVD I adore:

The Last of Her Kind by Sigrid Nunez

Sigrid Nunez: The Last of Her Kind

I don’t really remember how The Last of Her Kind ended up on my wishlist, but it was there, and it was only $5.46, so I went with it. It takes place in late 60s/70s college counterculture, and you can’t go wrong with that (hopefully).

Stacey D’Erasmo: The Sky Below

The Sky Below made the NY Times 100 Notable Books of 2009 list, and it is currently on sale for $2.39!!  Yes, you read that correctly: $2.39.  Hardcover.  I’m a little wary of the magical realism-sounding part of the plot, but I’ll give it a shot.

Chloe Aridjis: Book of Clouds

This one comes recommended by Junot Diaz.  The man has yet to let me down when it comes to literature recommendations (and his own writing), so I am more than happy to pay the regular price (a “whopping” $11.20).  I can’t wait to get my hands on this one; I love a great read!

And finally, I bought a DVD I’ve been wanting forever:

Richard Linklater: Before Sunrise

I love this movie. Love it, love it, love it.  Two strangers meet in Vienna and spend the next 14 hours together, talking about everything.  I can’t really say more than that (and really, there’s not much more to the plot than that), but it’s great.  And it’s only $5.79.  Woo!

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in art & literature, film, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas shopping…for me!

  1. slb says:

    before sunrise is only $5.79?! i need that in my life. i already have before sunset, and i’m not sure when or how i got it. i just know it’s from blockbuster. i think it was like 3.99, now that i think of it.

  2. Melissa says:

    i know, right? yeah, i already have before sunset, too. i think i got it on sale at target or something for fairly cheap.

  3. noemi says:

    I also bought myself books for me this navidad from closeoutbooks. & the kids mostly get books too, they last longer. I’ll have to look up these books.

  4. Pingback: Last Minute Gift Guide for the Social Justice Set « Like a Whisper

Leave a Reply

