Jessie de la Cruz

In December 1964, Arnoldo and I rode to the west side of Fresno to a hall called the Rainbow where a meeting was taking place. The meeting was led by a man named César Chavez. The purpose of the meeting was to organize farm labor workers with an association called the National Farm Workers Association. During one of the first meetings, César asked Arnoldo where I was and Arnoldo responded saying that I was in the kitchen. César said she belongs here she needs to know what will happen. I was now part of la causa a movement that would not only provide laborers better wages and better working conditions but also the respect which we deserved. I knew the farmworkers I met were scared and I was too. We all desperately needed to work but unless we did something to demand improved working conditions things simply would not change.

via Adventures in Feministory: Jessie de la Cruz

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in activism, history, workers' rights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jessie de la Cruz

  1. kuinjungan perdana
    salam hangat selalu

  2. Duma Key says:

    “unless we did something to demand improved working conditions things simply would not change.”

    I often think such thoughts about this way in which we exist, (I hasten to use the word live, as these days I dont think we do!)
    Great post and I hope change falls well

Leave a Reply

