Mad Men’s sexism wasn’t funny enough for Bill Clinton

via Chicago Sun-Times

“You ever watch that TV series ‘Mad Men?’ ” Clinton asked. “If I keep watching this program, will I ever find a happy person? Great television. Good drama. But a lot of really painful reminders in that show about how black people were supposed to run the elevators…were supposed to ask permission before they get on an elevator. The way women were treated is appalling, and only occasionally funny to me.

Um, Bill?  Maybe I’m projecting here, but I’m pret-ty sure none of the sexism in “Mad Men” was supposed to be funny.  Eyebrow-raising, perhaps, and I’m sure there are more than a few goony viewers who get a kick at the power men wield in the show.  But funny?  Nope, I’m drawing up blank.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in say what?, sexism, television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

