Donate to the Richmond rape victim

I’ve been silent regarding the gang rape of the 15-year-old at her homecoming dance, mostly because I just don’t know what to say.  I’m horrified.  I’m devastated for the victim, and for the long recovery process she faces.  I’m wary of the way race and socioeconomics are starting to play a factor in the reporting of the “story,” now that we know more background about the city this took place in, and how the majority of the rapist were minorities.

And I’m left with the unease of wondering how the men I know (and those I don’t know) would have reacted had they come across a similar situation.  I don’t like the assumptions I’m coming to.

I’ve been wondering if any organization was collecting donations for the victim. Richmond High School is collecting cards and donations. Here’s the address:

1250 23rd St.
Richmond, CA 94804-1011

Make checks out to the Richmond High Student Fund.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in rape, things that scare me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

