Judging a book by its cover

Never in my life have I felt inclined to read Wuthering Heights.  Ever.  Actually, every time I see “Brontë” I think, “Hmm…no.”  Emily, Charlotte, Anne, Jane Eyre, Villette.  I really don’t care.  I’d rather stab my eyes out.  This is a completely unjustified and baseless aversion, I assure you.  Kind of like when I think of Dickens and go “EW,” even though I’ve never read the guy.

But this cover by fashion illustrator Ruben Toledo is freaking awesome.  I saw it a few months ago before the edition was published, and I’ve been wanting it ever since.  My book collection is screaming, “We need the pretty Wuthering Heights!!”

So yes.  I’ve judged this book by its cover and determined it is the best Brontë book ever (and the only one worth reading).  When I eventually buy it, I’m finally going to read Wuthering Heights.  If that makes me shallow, so be it.  Just be glad I didn’t see these Twilight-inspired editions of the book first, because then I would’ve banished the novel to Dickens-level purgatory.

Any other amazing book covers—ahem, I mean books—I should know about?

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in art & literature, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Judging a book by its cover

  1. Jezebella says:

    Savor the awesome cover, oh yes, but I do not recommend reading it. Heathcliff is an abusive, stalkery a-hole, and Cathy a vapid narcissist whose every action is almost completely incomprehensible. I hated every single person in that book, so much that I could not finish it.

Leave a Reply

