Monday Mix – Folk Edition

I was watching Dogfight last night (the River Phoenix/Lily Taylor movie), and Lily’s character was obsessed with folk music.  I haven’t been able to get Bob Dylan out of my head all day. Granted, Blitzen Trapper and Fleet Foxes aren’t straight up folk music, but their sound is definitely country/folk/Americana-inspired.

I first heard this Fleet Foxes cover about a year ago, and I think it’s gorgeous.  I was elated to find out that these women now have a CD out.  You can check out their Myspace page to hear more of their music.  While you’re at it, check out the Fleet Foxes page, because their sound is also amazing (and even more so live).

“Annie’s Song” remains one of my favorite songs of all time, so of course I had to include that on here.  And as for “This Land Is Your Land,” I was always ambivalent about it because I just remember having to sing it in elementary school, and it always seemed like total propaganda.  It wasn’t until I had the pleasure of seeing The Nightwatchman (Tom Morello) in concert that I heard the song in its entirety.  He explained the radical nature of the lyrics, sang the song, then had the entire audience join in.  Never in my life did I imagine that a sold out rock concert at Webster Hall would involve a Woody Guthrie sing-along!

  1. Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
  2. Blitzen Trapper – Furr
  3. First Aid Kit – Tiger Mountain Peasant Song (Fleet Foxes cover)
  4. John Denver – Annie’s Song
  5. Woody Guthrie – This Land Is Your Land

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in film, monday mix, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

