My first foray into green smoothies

I’ve wanted try making a green smoothie for some time now, ever since I saw this how-to.  I just didn’t have a blender and didn’t want to buy one since I had absolutely no room for appliances in my old NY apartment.

Well, now I have access to a blender.  But before I go any further, I’d just like to say:

  1. I’m poor.  My blender is nothing like the one in the video; it was probably the cheapest thing on sale at Target.  As such, my blender is not magical and cannot do the things that $400 blenders can do.
  2. I’m delusional.  I saw that how-to video a grand total of one time–about a year and a half ago, might I add–and thought I’d master all future attempts at green smoothies going off memory alone.
  3. I’m lazy.  Rather than trying to locate said video, I haphazardly Googled “green smoothies,” haphazardly skimmed a bunch of “recipes,” then haphazardly decided to use whatever, so long as it included spinach and bananas (because I had a bunch of bananas over-ripening  on me).

I ended up using:

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 2 cups of frozen blueberries
  • 2 gigantic handfuls of spinach
  • 2 cups of water

I probably should’ve watched the video one more time before starting (I watched it as soon as I finished blending–makes sense, no?), so that I would’ve known to blend the spinach first.  I thought about that fact after I’d already put the other solid ingredients in the blender, but didn’t feel like taking everything out again just to do the spinach first (I wasn’t lying about being lazy).

I have three smoothie settings on my blue collar blender, and they all seem to do the same thing.  I ended up with tiny flecks of spinach floating around my drink, rather than a nice, smooth puree.  I don’t know if doing the spinach first would’ve helped (it probably would’ve, a little), so we’ll see when I try again next time.

What I ended up with was, in fact, drinkable.  It looked a little on the bird-shit-green side, and you could chew the tiny pieces of spinach, but it was fresh-tasting and subtly sweet.  It was definitely not one of those super sweet smoothies you’d buy at an ice cream parlor, but it didn’t taste like a jar of spinach baby food or anything!  I’d make it again, but next time I’ll probably leave out 1 banana and instead add apples or grapes.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

