Burger King had a Texican ad?

via Latino Contrarian

This is…strange.  Although I think I’m more offended my the usual mix of asshole Youtube commenters than by the commercial itself.

The ad was pulled.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in fast food fuckery, food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Burger King had a Texican ad?

  1. prof susurro says:

    the ad campaign was pulled after the Mexican Ambassador to Spain, where the ads aired, expressed his offense at the series (which included want ads ala wild west and commercials with the Mexican actor being lifted by the N. American one to do simple tasks). Instead of appealing to the racism angle, the Ambassador simply told them the Mexican Flag is copywritten and no one in Mexico would give Burger King permission to use it . . .

    I actually find the gay window dressing of this ad particularly interesting and hope that Burger King tries similar subtext in the future given their usual emphasis on hyper-heteromasculinity. But am thrilled at how quickly the Mexican Ambassador, whose name I do not know, shut them down.

  2. Thanks for the info!

    The gay subtext is definitely what threw me. VERY un-BK-like. I wonder if that’s because the ad ran in Europe, and whether BK would try to run something with similar subtext in the states.

  3. prof susurro says:

    interesting. is Europe a safer market for queer subtext? right now . . . probably. I’d like to see it here too, as long as it doesn’t involve some surreal thing with “the [Burger] King.”

  4. Rufor says:

    Interesting, I`ll quote it on my site later.

Leave a Reply

