An Eluardian Instance, and other weekend randomness

This has nothing to do with feminism, donuts, texicanism, or anything of that nature.

It has everything to do with my love for Of Montreal and the fact that they have a new video, which I felt like sharing since it’s so purrrrty.  While last year’s Skeletal Lamping isn’t my fave album of theirs, I’m still love the direction they’ve taken their music in the past few years.

In other news…

I know I said I hated New Years resolutions, but I’ve been thinking about it (yes, 17 days later).  After being completely consumed with reading Lionel Shriver’s The Post-Birthday World, I’ve decided I will read 52 books this year (1 a week).  1 of those books per month has to be non-fiction, and 1 per month has to be some kind of Latina/o literature.  The rest can be whatever.

Last year I set the goal of 100 books for the year, but teaching and grad school quashed that.  Now that I have a better grip on how to teach college without going insane (i.e. “don’t wait to grade 100 papers on the last possible day”)–and now that I’m too financially strapped to continue grad school at least for the spring semester–I think 52 books in a year is quite doable.

*crosses fingers*

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in art & literature, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

