Happy 4th

I’m kind of a cynic when it comes to any type of “patriotic” holiday, and I hate bandwagon patriotism.  You will never, for instance, catch me buying flag stamps at the post office (unless that’s all they’ve got, at which point i will stick them on the envelope upside down). 

But I will admit a very soft spot for purdy light shows.  I was originally going to brave the crowds and make my way down to NYC for the Macy’s thing, but after working all day, I just can’t bring myself to deal with the hassle of trains, subways, and lots of standing just for a 30 minute display, so I will soon be heading out to one of the many other fireworks shows in my suburban hell.

And since my idea of patriotism involves sticking it to The Man, I would also like to share with you one of the best damn patriotic songs ever.

Sleater-Kinney – Combat Rock

Have a good one!

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

