Asshole of the Day: John Cornyn

I’m one of those people who contacts her representatives regarding impending legislation, and the recent battles for Planned Parenthood funding at the federal and state level were no exception. I sent my senators a personalized email, and this is what Sen. Cornyn sent me in return (I added the emphasis):

Thank you for contacting me about federal funding for Planned Parenthood. I appreciate having the benefit of your comments on this important matter.

On April 14, 2011, I supported House Concurrent Resolution 36, legislation that would have prohibited federal funding from being appropriated to Planned Parenthood. Unfortunately, this legislation failed to pass the Senate; however, you may be certain that I will continue to support initiatives to prevent federal taxpayer dollars from funding Planned Parenthood during the 112th Congress.

As you may know, on January 22, 1973, the United States Supreme Court concluded in Roe v. Wade that a woman’s decision to carry her pregnancy to term or abort her pregnancy falls within a right to privacy guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. The Court’s decision created a previously unrecognized legal right to privacy and severely restricted states’ ability to regulate abortion.

I strongly believe that the Supreme Court majority decision regarding Roe v. Wade, which legalized abortion in America, substituted its own will for that of the American people. Though the Roe v. Wade decision still stands, I am committed to building a culture of life in America. I believe that all human life is a gift from God, and I will continue to work within the law to see that all human life—from conception to natural death—is treated with the dignity and respect it deserves.

I appreciate having the opportunity to represent the interests of Texans in the United States Senate. Thank you for taking the time to contact me.

Sincerely,
JOHN CORNYN
United States Senator

Um, Cornyn? If you want to build a “culture of life” in America, you should probably stop “substituting your own will” by showing contempt for poor people and immigrants. Your voting record is atrocious. Jackass.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in abortion, asshole of the day, body politics, texas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asshole of the Day: John Cornyn

  1. Kay says:

    Cornyn really is dreadful. But just wait until he teams up with Cruz. Texas has turned so many people off. I am a native Texan who woke up in November 2004 and realized that Bush had stolen another election. I began searching for somewhere else to live. I now live on a wonderful little island off the coast of Cancun, Isla Mujeres. I live in the colonia and have Mexican neighbors. I spend only pesos and am struggling to learn Spanish even though most of my neighbors speak English.
    I hope you are encouraging your fellow feminists, Democrats and Chicano citizens to vote this time around. The Castro twin (whose name I can’t recall) should be elected to Congress. If only Sadler could defeat Cruz. If Texas turns blue and goes for Obama, I might move back!

Leave a Reply

