Guatemala.

I mentioned on Sunday that Tropical Storm Agatha had wreaked havoc in Guatemala, as well as parts of El Salvador and Honduras.  What I didn’t mention was that in that same week, Guatemala City also had to deal the eruption of the nearby Pacaya volcano.

The Big Picture has photos of some of the damage from both disasters:

A man displays volcanic ash cleared from his vehicle on May 27, 2010 in the municipal seat of Villa Nueva, following a powerful eruption of the Pacaya volcano, 50 kilometers south of Guatemala City. (JOHAN ORDONEZ/AFP/Getty Images)

Flooding caused by Tropical Storm Agatha in Retalhuleu, Guatemala May 30, 2010. (REUTERS/Casa Presidencial)

I am hearing nary a word on disaster relief efforts (and, quite frankly, have heard little about the disasters themselves from mainstream media sources).  When I find out more, I’ll let you know.

About Melissa

I love donuts. Chocolate iced, hold the sprinkles.
This entry was posted in world and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guatemala.

  1. I didn’t know about this either. The media, priceless?

  2. Melissa says:

    I know. No one I’ve mentioned this to knows anything about it. The only “reports” about Guatemala I’ve seen basically sound like, “OMG, giant sinkhole!” Good job, media.

Leave a Reply

